Honoring your mother in an eco way

This Sunday is Mother’s Day in the U.S. and, chances are, some of you Eco Warriors will be spending some time with your own mothers. Or, perhaps you are a spouse/significant other helping your children get their gifts ready for their mothers. The Eco Women are here to help.

There are a lot of nice ways to honor mothers without breaking the bank or creating a lot of waste. Here are some ideas that are environmentally friendly and/or support local businesses:

A pale pink climbing rose given to Recycla by Enviro Girl three years ago as a housewarming gift.

If you are planning to go out to lunch or brunch on Mother’s Day, skip the chain restaurant and instead choose one that’s locally-owned. Bonus points if the restaurant serves local foods.

Instead of buying cut flowers, how about buying your mother a plant for her garden? Some of Recycla’s favorites include roses, irises, peonies, and lavender. Expand on the gift by offering to do the planting yourself!

If garden plants won’t work, what about an inside plant? Or, do you have any options for buying locally-grown flowers? The farmers’ market in Recycla’s town has a vendor who grows gorgeous flowers and sells them every weekend from April until the fall. A stunning bouquet usually costs around $10-15.

How about a beautiful cloth shopping bag or a colorful French market basket?  These would be great for your mother when she goes to the market, picks up books at the library, or is running errands.  It’s likely you could find baskets and cloth shopping bags made locally, but if you can’t, check Etsy for loads of options.

Or how about a gift of an experience, such as tickets to a concert, play, opera, or some other show?

Take a photo of you with your mother, the whole family, or some combination thereof. If you give her a gift of an experience, get someone to snap a photo of you there, so you’ll have the combined gifts of a happy memory and a photo.

These are just a few ideas to help you get started. The important thing is to let your mother or the woman who is mothering your children know that she is loved and appreciated — not just on the second Sunday of May, but every day!

Tell the Eco Women: How will you be spending Mother’s Day?

5 thoughts on “Honoring your mother in an eco way

  1. My mother is no longer with us but one of her (and my) favorite gifts was to find a pile of second hand books I thought she would like and tie them with a beautiful ribbon. It is personal as you have chosen the books, doesn’t cost too much and eco because once read the books can be passed on. My children were away for mother’s day in the UK so I think I’ll adopt the US date this year!

  2. We always get the moms hanging baskets for their porches–and I get carte blanche to buy flowers at my favorite greenhouse for MY garden:)

  3. My daughter and I are visiting my mother on Saturday and we’ll be going to the local nursery together to pick out plants for her planters. 🙂 My mom has the most impressive green thumb!

    I’m not sure what we’re doing Sunday (I know my daughter and husband were working on a craft together!), but I already got my gift, which was a lilac bush (I’ve wanted one for so long!). My husband recently said to me that he realized he has always bought me a lot of “stuff.” Things that were neat and I would like, but that I didn’t need or wasn’t wanting at the time. So he said he was making a effort not to do that anymore. I’m so proud of him.

  4. I planned to get my mom flowers for her containers on her deck and I’ll plant them for her.

  5. Great ideas, and my mom would love any one of them. I planted herbs in a strawberry pot for my mom. I really liked the idea of a cleaning the house for mom too, whether it be done by me or a cleaning service. She also enjoys her wine, so I’m making a bottle tree to add to her landscaping. Fun way to reuse those bottles.

Leave a Reply

