Untarnished

With the holidays upon us, are you getting ready to pull out your fine china, crystal, and silver? Uh oh, is your silver tarnished? Have no fear, Recycla knows two different eco-friendly ways to clean silver, whether it’s silverware, candlesticks, platters, or jewelry — use plain white toothpaste (gel won’t work) or baking soda and a sponge.

To use toothpaste, just rub a little in with a soft cloth until the tarnish is gone, then wipe off with a clean damp cloth. Dry to remove any lingering moisture.

To use baking soda, make a paste with water and rub in the same way as the toothpaste. For stubborn tarnish, leave the past on for an hour or so.

To do a whole batch at once, line a pan with aluminum foil, fill with water, add a teaspoon each of baking soda and salt, and bring the water to a boil. Drop in the silver. Turn off the burner and watch the tarnish slowly collect on the foil. Once the silver is shiny, buff it with soft cloth, such as old t-shirts you’re not wearing anymore.

To help keep your silver tarnish free, wrap it in plastic wrap or seal in Ziploc bags when not in use. You just need to make sure the silver is air-tight, as sulfur in the air reacts with silver to cause those unsightly black streaks. Yes, Recycla knows that plastic is evil, however, sometimes you just gotta use it. Just make a point to reuse the plastic every time you wrap up your silver when not in use.

One thought on “Untarnished

  1. Thanks. I have been looking for a way to clean silver and oddly enough I got so sick of my dirty rings the other day when I finished brushing my teeth I realized my toothbrush was getting old so I used it unrinsed to clean my rings and they turned out great! Now I know why. I’m really glad I kept that toothbrush specifically for that job, now I know I can do it safely.

Leave a Reply

