Black Friday – How ‘Bout Green


Red, White, Black, Green…?

What does it really mean?

Well, even after I know what Black Friday means, I’m wondering about this shopping “celebration”. . .

I’m going to be radical and propose we make it a Green Friday instead. By that I’m definitely not proposing that you should spend all the green in your wallet.

All I’m saying is I’m having second and maybe even third thoughts. After all, Black Friday is a relatively new phenomenon and I’m seriously thinking we all might be better off if we turn back the clock and change Black Friday to Green Friday instead.

I really don’t mean to be a Grinch. Seriously, I don’t want to ruin retailers’ hopes and dreams but I’m thinking perhaps there’s a little bit more to this season and the Thanksgiving celebration than shopping…

Originally the term “Black Friday” was a negative name. It originated in Philadelphia and was meant to describe the heavy foot and vehicle traffic that congested the city the day after Thanksgiving but then it took on a positive “new” meaning around 1974. “Black Friday” was meant to describe the point in the year when retailers should be running in the black rather than the red.

It wasn’t too long ago when retailers opened early on Friday morning, like at 6:00 a.m., then in the 2000’s opening times pushed back to 5:00 a.m., then 4:00 a.m. and now Black Friday is becoming Black THURSDAY.

WILL IT EVER STOP…?

I’m just afraid that Thanksgiving is transforming into a new holiday. It’s being morphed into a shopping celebration rather than a time to recall the wonderful things we all have in our lives, like family and friends and sharing time together over a good meal.

Thanksgiving is getting lost in the middle. I’m seeing it shoved to the sidelines where, if we aren’t careful, it might soon be forgotten.

And, if it keeps going like this, it may not be a time for family and friends to share a meal any more, it could become nothing more than a night spent in the mall, waiting in lines, and lunging after the best deal.

Some big retailers will be opening as early as midnight or 10:00 p.m. on Thanksgiving night. This shopping frenzy is not what the holidays should be about. I’m not trying to put a damper on the day but I think Thanksgiving should be for family, friends and feasting . . . not shopping. And, believe me, the Green Queen is all about finding a good deal but really. . . don’t these store clerks deserve to stay home for their holiday too?

I’m going to propose that we all stay home with our families and friends on Thanksgiving day. . . and night . . . and not succumb to the temptations being thrown at us to lure us into the mega malls.

The season should mean a little bit more.

What do you think?

4 thoughts on “Black Friday – How ‘Bout Green

  1. Nope. No shopping for me this weekend. I might possibly bike to a local market tomorrow to pick up a few food items. I might also possibly order something online today. Otherwise, no.

  2. My “Black Friday” looked different. We visited small shops in our downtown and stayed away from the mall. Shopkeepers were so nice, deals were good , quality of merchandise wonderful. I know tomorrow is “Small Business Saturday,” but I did mine early.

Leave a Reply

