A more eco burger

It’s almost the 4th of July! Celebrating our nation’s birthday means fireworks, hot days, cold swimming pools, watermelon, lemonade, and burgers on the grill.

Recycla loves good grilled burgers, especially the ones her husband makes.  They are nearly divine, especially when served with sides of homemade oven fries, homemade pickles, and home grown berries.

What is not served at the Recycla household is beef that comes from cows raised in a traditional feedlot, fed antibiotics and hormones, given no room to move around, and all the other disgusting things seen in the movie “Fast Food Nation.” (Or read in the book.) Recycla prefers her beef to be free of antibiotics, hormones, and animal bi-products, thank you very much, and gets her beef from a local farm where she has developed a relationship with the farmer and knows that she’s buying organic, grass-fed, antibiotic-free beef.

Burger lovers looking for an alternative to conventional beef have two options — meat labeled organic or natural. Organic regulations, as implemented by the U.S. Agriculture Department, ban antibiotics, hormones and animal bi-products in cattle feed. Unlike producers of “natural” meat products, which are minimally processed and free of preservatives and additives, organic producers must be certified annually for compliance with organic standards to raise, feed and process their livestock. Organically raised cattle also must be tracked from birth to consumption.

If you want to buy good beef, your best option is to get it from a local farm, the farmers’ market, or a local butcher.  If you have any local independent grocery stores, you might just find local organic beef there too.

Organic beef does cost more per pound, but since Recycla’s family of four will only need a pound of beef to cover their burger needs, Recycla isn’t going to sweat the relatively minor hit to her grocery budget.

In the coming weeks, Recycla is looking forward to having fresh tomato slices on her burger, homemade pickles on the side, and buttery corn on the cob.

Recycla is very glad summer is here.

Photo credits: Yahoo Images.
3 thoughts on “A more eco burger

  1. As usual, you are so timely! I am making 32 burger patties later today to freeze for a big 4th of July party. (I was torn between 30 & 36, and decided since rolls come in packs of 8, I’d settle on 32!)

    My husband doesn’t understand why I don’t just buy a big pack of pre-made patties, but I just cannot stomach factory-farmed beef anymore. I intended to buy grass-fed, but when I went to Whole Foods yesterday, they only had a few 1lb-ish packs of grass-fed beef, and it was $7.00/lb. So, instead, I bought a few 3lb packs of their other beef at $4.50/lb. It’s marked “Animal Welfare Rating – No cages, no crates, no hormones” as well as “No antiobiotics ever & Vegetarian diet.” I figured it was the 2nd-best choice. I seriously think I’m developing a weird eating-disorder in trying to find organics/ low carbon-footprint/ humanely raised food.

    I barely eat burgers anymore, and opt for a veggie burger when my family indulges, but I’m not sure how my guests would react to that. I’m trying to green this party as much as I can without causing a revolution within my extended family!

  2. What a brilliant idea to make the burger patties in advance. I cannot believe I haven’t thought to do that before. We’ll have 17 at our place for a cookout, so I would be smart to prepare in advance.

    – Jen/Recycla

Leave a Reply

