Honey, scrub me

Every now and then — okay, more often than she likes — Recycla looks in the mirror and realizes that her skin is not looking its best. One remedy is to give it a gentle scrub. Oh sure, Recycla could buy (and has in the past) something to help her skin glow, but why do that when she already has the necessary ingredients in her pantry?

Check out this scrub recipe from Whole Living:

Honey Scrub

Ingredients:

  • 1 teaspoon pure honey
  • 1/4 cup light olive oil
  • 1 cup raw or granulated sugar
  • 2 teaspoons citrus zest (optional)

Blend the ingredients until well mixed, then store in a jar.

The honey is a humectant, which means it rehydrates the skin, while the sugar buffs away dead cells gently (it will dissolve as it works). The citrus offers an invigorating scent.

If you’re interested in making your own lip balm and moisturizer, check out this post by the Green Mommy.

Tell the Eco Women: Do you make any of your own personal care products?

3 thoughts on “Honey, scrub me

  1. Ohhh, yes. For years I’ve used a combination of glycerin and aloe vera gel as a moisturizer. And I’m big on a variety of exfoliants like sugar, salt, oatmeal – whatever is around – and honey as a mask. I even tried a sugar wax on myself, but ended up doing terrible unsightly things to the blood vessels in my legs, so I don’t do that anymore.

  2. I make my own honey/almond/lavender facial scrub too! I use ground up almonds and oatmeal as the exfoliant and then lavender essential oil and honey to soothe with some Vitamin E oil and Tea Tree Oil as natural preservatives (in addition being great for the skin) so the scrub doesn’t need to be refrigerated.

    I actually posted my recipe last Tuesday, feel free to check it out if you like! 😀
    http://www.significantlysimple.com/2011/05/super-easy-homemade-honey-almond-facial.html

    Great blog btw! ♥

    ~Laila 😀

Leave a Reply

