Happy birthday Eco Women

Three years ago today, the Eco Women entered the blogosphere.  Then, as now, their mission is to help people find easy ways to live a more environmentally friendly life.

The Eco Women started out with Enviro Girl and Recycla and have since expanded to include the Green Queen, the Green Mommy, Eco Lassie, and Captain Compost.  Since their very first post on March 1, 2008, they have published almost 1,000 posts in just three years and have also started sharing more info on their Facebook page.

The Eco Women are incredibly grateful for their readers and to show just how grateful, they are giving away three of these:

Yes, three of the Eco Women’s cloth shopping bags.  The Eco Women love these bags and not only use them daily, but also regularly give them as gifts.

To enter the giveaway, just leave a comment on this post.  Share your favorite eco tip, suggest a topic for the Eco Women to blog about, or just say hi.  One entry per person.  The contest is open until 11:59 p.m. EST this Friday. Over the weekend, the Eco Women will randomly draw three names and announce the winners next Monday.

Good luck!

Comments are now closed.

16 thoughts on “Happy birthday Eco Women

  1. Happy Birthday and Congratulations!! I can honestly say that you guys have my favorite blog. The topics you cover are always timely and interesting to me. OK — my favorite eco-tip? I’d have to say thinking twice before buying. Look at what the product’s made of, where it comes from, the waste it might produce, and whether or not you really need it.

  2. Hooray! My tip (from a friend) – toilet paper tubes are recyclable, sure, but you can also cut them in half and use them to start seeds indoors, and then plant them straight in the ground later. Where they biodegrade and fertilze and stuff!

  3. I have many many grocery bags and don’t actually NEED your lovely bag, but it IS lovely and I could give it to my daughter who is encumbered with job and kid and husband and such like detritus and needs a little nudge now and then to be greener. Give it some consideration.
    And Happy Anniversary!

  4. My Eco Tip? My husband makes my kids do 20 pushups every time they leave the light on/radio on/tv on when they leave a room for good.
    Also? I’ve really cut down on paper towel use – bought some lightweight cotton cloths to use in the kitchen – they are washcloth size, but have a stripe so I know where they go. We have really reduced our paper towel use by about 70%.
    Oh, and this year we took pumpkins and used them as planters, then plopped them and the flowers in the ground, lock stock and barrel, when the pumpkin started to get icky.

  5. It is great to find this site. Happy Birthday! I converted to reuseable bags about 2 years ago, but my bags are now really ratty and need to be washed. But I am afraid they will fall apart when I wash them. They are not canvas bags (shame, shame – I was not properly educated).

    My tip: I am trying to make fewer dinners with meat. Cooking tofu takes me outside my childhood experience with food & cooking, but I’m trying. I also try to plan meals for the week: less food wasted, fewer trips to the grocery store.

  6. We are using one car. If I need it, my husband gets rides from co-workers. In a small city with great weather I can walk to the post office, grocery store and Fresh Market. With the price of gas these days, it also makes economic sense.

  7. Happy Blog Birthday!! I use reusable bags for everything and another would definitely come in handy.
    As a possible future post…I’d love for you to address some of the issues that come with being an eco-conscious person or vegetarian living with a not so conscious person or an omnivore and how to make it all work!

  8. Of course I have bags similar to that but my children keep taking them back to their homes/college dorms. I would be proud to carry this bag with me on my shopping excursions!

  9. I am taking an organic gardening class -starting tomorrow!- and will be growing lots of fresh, organic veggies this year. I hope to be able to compost too, and would like to reduce my garbage service.

  10. Love your blog!
    I think it would be awesome to have a weekly or monthly food post with recipes (vegetarian or vegan, for example) or other tips for the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

